Continuing…

Continuing the Challenge. Flash Fiction for 10 Days in July.

mirror-1464840_1920

 

Mirror

Long past when I could remember, I was born in the very house which I was standing.  I was burdened to clean out all the things that our family collected over the years, but the task revealed a family secret I had never known.

Cleaning out my Grandmother’s attic after she passed away changed my life. I learned more that day about who I was and where I came from than any other day prior. It wasn’t a day where I would’ve cleaned out all her belongings and make bare the house where she raised me; no, it was the day I learned of my sister.

Opening a trunk near the back wall, I found a photo book with pictures of my mother holding me, but it wasn’t just me she was holding. She held two baby girls, one on each arm. I couldn’t tell which child was me, but I recognized how I looked when I was that little girl. At that moment I knew the other child was my sister, my twin sister.

I stood and walked to the other side of the attic. As I collected my thoughts, I noticed a mirror covered by a dirty sheet resting from top to bottom but revealing the slightest sliver of glass near the side. Pulling on the sheet and removing it from the mirror, I saw my reflection.

As I looked closer, my reflection didn’t move in the way I would’ve expected. The woman in the mirror put her hands on her hips and smiled at me. I flinched and stepped back, but the woman reflecting in the glass tilted her head and giggled.

“Please don’t be frightened. I won’t harm you.”

I drew in a shuddered breath. “Who are you?”

“Silly, I’m your twin sister.”

“My sister? How are you doing this?”

“It’s not me doing anything. I wanted you to see me before it’s too late.”

“Too late? Too late for what?” I asked.

“You need to hurry. The German’s will soon begin their nightly bombing on London, and you don’t want to be up here when the Devil comes to pay homage.”

“I want to know what happened – what happened to you?”

“You will know soon enough, but you must make haste to the cellar before the Luftwaffe arrive, and before all is lost.”

I hurried down the stairs as the bombs began blasting.

 

jungle-2292850_1920

 

Into the Jungle

She knew if she made it to the tribe’s camp, the Shaman would help her. The Shaman of the most feared tribe in all of the jungle. But she had to make a run for it when the guard went down to get his morning meal. It wouldn’t be easy, and it certainly had to be quick.

She watched for the Jeep to pull into camp while she pulled the loose boards from the frame. Tugging one last time, she made enough room to slip through and make her way to freedom, at least free to run for help.

Lying on her blanket and pretending to sleep, she listened for the sounds of gravel being churned up by the tires of the vehicle. The delivery was late that morning. She stayed motionless as the sounds of men speaking at the large tent became animated.

“¿Dónde está el camión de comida?” The voice carried up the hill to her shack.

“¡Cállate! Va a ser aquí.” Another voice pierced through the camp.

She knew the men were getting agitated and today might be too risky, but she also knew today had to be the day she made her move. They would likely move her to a new camp by afternoon, and that might make her escape impossible. It had to be this morning or never.

A voice cried out near the camp entrance. “¡Ahí está! ¡Nuestra comida está llegando!”

She thought it might be her chance. Did the voice yell— “There it is! Our food is coming!”?  He did—She thought.

It was time. She peeked to see the guard check on her one more time before he went down the hill to get his meal. He put his rifle over his shoulder,  turned and began his walk down the path to the middle of camp.

“Now!” She whispered. Pulling the boards back, she squirmed and wiggled her way through the opening. Once she cleared her feet from the shack, she stood and ran toward the upper mountains.

Her strides stretched wide, and her legs burned, but she kept her pace. She heard the yells coming from the camp but they faded the closer she moved toward the mountain.

Stopping to put her hands on her knees to catch her breath, she heard a voice in front of her. Looking up, she saw an Elder and the tribe’s Shaman.

The Shaman smiled and held out his hand. “I have been expecting you, Maria.” He took her hand. “You are most welcome here, and you are safe.”

 

Thank for Reading!

All my Love,

Michael

Leave a Reply

